BTT: Different Kind of Romance

Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character? Who and what about them did you love?

This question made me smile.

“Love” is probably too strong a word but I’ve had a crush on more than a few fictional characters over the years. I think my very first lit crush was Joe Hardy of the Hardy Boys detective series. Why? Probably because he was blonde and impetuous. After him came a long line of fictional detectives, the latest being the Benedict Cumberbatch incarnation of Sherlock Holmes.  Who would have thought that high-functioning sociopath could be so attractive?

My non-detective lit crush would be Helen Fielding’s Mark Darcy for being man enough to tell boyfriend-stealing Rebecca “I need Bridget.”

5 Responses to “BTT: Different Kind of Romance”

  1. mary Ann Langan Says:

    A good answer, just maybe infatuated for me.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday.html

  2. Eva @View from the Hillside Says:

    Oh yes, the Hardy boys. I liked Frank 🙂
    I have other crushes too.

  3. Hilde Says:

    I never read the Hardy Boys as a child. I feel like I’ve missed out on something. As for Sherlock Holmes… Well, I prefer John Watson. 😉

  4. bookraider Says:

    My Holmes crush is really more of a TV crush since it’s all about the actor

  5. Emma and Kate Says:

    and Austen’s Darcy ?

Leave a comment